Asian Apparel

The Best of NYC Fashion Week 2016: Sandy Liang

With fashion month just recently coming to a close, I thought I’d write a post dedicated to one of my favorite Asian designers who recently showcased her S/S 2017 collection at New York Fashion Week.

I discovered Sandy Liang earlier this year, and I immediately fell in love with her pieces. I love her designs because her aesthetics incorporates unique and daring elements with more conventional pieces.

Below are some of my favorite looks from her Spring/Summer 2017 collection:

image

Many of her pieces are patch-work pieces and I love this denim on denim look. I also love the look of frayed/un-hemmed jeans this season because it’s just so unrefined and edgy. She also tends to use a lot of embellishments on her denim pieces which I love.

image

I can’t figure out why but for some reason I’m obsessed with this pastel colored fur shearling coat. I think it’s partially because I love the color palette she picked for this piece but also because I love how much of a standout piece it is. Give me a solid fur coat with a pastel color palette, and I’m sold. More Sandy Liang signature elements – patchwork, frayed denim, and leopard print. I also love how most of her pieces are oversized because then they drape so nicely on the body and give a vintage feel to every look.

image

I definitely get a 90s vibe from this look. I love her use of standout pieces like leopard print faux fur with more understated pieces like this all white denim slip dress.


Photo Credits

0 comments on “The Best of NYC Fashion Week 2016: Sandy Liang

Leave a Reply

